Are You “Too Sensitive”? Why You Might Be an HSP, and Why That’s a Good Thing

Have you often been told you’re ‘too sensitive’? Are you easily affected by the moods of others? Do you seem to notice subtleties in your…

Source: Are You “Too Sensitive”? Why You Might Be an HSP, and Why That’s a Good Thing

Quoted from the attached article:

“Each culture values sensitivity differently, and unfortunately, modern American culture is not one known to be friendly to HSPs. Aggressiveness and boldness in action are favored over introspection, and sensitivity is largely seen as a weakness. As such, many HSPs suffer from low self-esteem, as their internal belief that there is something wrong with them is actually backed up by the society in which they live.”

I am an HSP.  I’ve known this for a long time.  I believe a lot of people are forced into silence because others bully us into believing it’s a weakness.  Though it causes strife (internally, mostly), I believe it makes me a more receptive person- insightful as well, because I feel what others are feeling.  HSPs are compassionate and empathetic, which means we can put ourselves in your shoes.

This makes me a better writer.  This allows me to get in touch with human emotions that others would rather ignore or disregard.  Using my powers of emotional perception, I write with clarity and nuance.

Don’t fight it, my fellow HSPs.  Show them what they’re missing.

Leave a Reply

