The Rat Race

 

rat2
(image: stylehive.com)

 

I was thinking about success this morning.  Success being defined as seeking goals, fulfilling/winning your goals, and achieving a comfortable live from these goals.

I believe everyone has goals.  Some are more ambitious than others.  The difference between success and failure can sometimes be  the motivation behind the seeker.

If you can’t get yourself off the couch in order to seek your goals, then you fail.  You can complain all you want, but it’s ultimately your fault.

Additionally, if you can’t figure out what your goals are, you have an obligation to yourself to actively search for your heart’s desire.  If you don’t figure it out, than I truly believe that most of the time it’s from a lack of real soul-searching.  It’s a sad thing.

The purpose of this post today is to vent about the people with motivation.

I have known I want to be an author since I was twelve.  It has been pulsing in my veins ever since.  I may have been scared to put my work in the public eye, but I always knew in my heart that I wanted to be published.  Not for fame or even money (I know that sounds like a bunch of baloney, but I swear it’s true)- I want people to get something from my work.  I want people to be changed by my words, to expand and enrich them with my characters.  I want to leave this earth knowing I have touched people’s lives with my gift.

This being said, I need to be comfortable.  I want a stable life for my children, my husband, and myself.  I don’t want money to be the catalyst for my anxiety attacks.

Why is it that other people (I’m thinking of a few bloggers that I read) can work hard and succeed in turning their dreams into a fruitful life, but others (namely writers) can work just as hard, but still never get there?

Marketing myself is not my strong suit.  But I still work hard.  I still put my heart and soul into every piece of fiction that I write.  I have worked tirelessly to get my novel to the point of being published, while having a family and holding down a full time job.  I’ve put in the hours.

So have a lot of other writers.  I truly feel your plight.

In the end, it’s a part of me.  My art has to be created, expressed.  So while I might not ever be able to live off it, I wouldn’t change it for anything.

Except maybe a United Kingdom visa…I might do it for that.

Leave a Reply

