Epic Couples: Chick Lit

sushi
(image: mariankeyes.com)

 

One of my favorite genres is chick lit.  I have quite a few favorite couples from this category, but one stands out above the rest.

Sushi for Beginners by Marian Keyes was one of the first chick lit novels I read.  It also happens to be one of my favorite all-time stories, but I won’t drone on about the many reasons why.

I’ll just tell you that I loved the main couple- Ashling Kennedy and Jack Devine.  Any time a couple has to fight their attraction, it adds another level to the heat factor of a relationship.  Ashling is a shy, uncertain woman who has very low standards for herself in the romance department.  Jack is used to hot-headed, high maintenance women.  Opposites attract in the best way here.

He’s her boss.  He also likes to make snide comments about her penchant for preparedness.  It’s classic kindergarten hair pulling.

Ashling takes it the wrong way.  Eventually she sees who he really is when he takes care of her on more than one occasion.  I love when a man is not only kind and sensitive, but also fights his discomfort to do the right thing.

The depth of these two characters pulls me in every time.  If you like being in a character’s head, and you like a romance that’s a surprise to both parties, this is the story for you.  One of my absolute favorites.

Leave a Reply

